Eastbay Gold Prospecting & Treasure Hunting Club

Forums

Forum Home > Welcome Folks!! > Hi folks!

pete

Hi everybody. My name is Pete and I live in Castro Valley. I am new to prospecting and have been looking for other folks in the area for help and direction, and I found you guys and gals with a little search online. I have been reading everything I can about protecting and trying to get up to speed.

I really love hiking, camping, and the outdoors and love rocks and minerals, and have always wanted to look for gold. I would enjoy heading out with you guys sometime to do some prospecting, and I would be happy to contribute in any way that I can. I have a truck, and some portable solar panels i built, charger, and inverter that we can use for power out in the woods if needed. Can someone recommended to me the essential gear that I need to get for a beginning prospector?

cheers,

pete

December 30, 2012 at 7:05 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Sourdough Joe

Pete,

this club has a bunch of folks who could provide you with the info you're looking for.

the easiest way for you to get it is come to a meeting, or outing. show and tell works best "hands on"

see you there, sourdough joe

--

December 30, 2012 at 10:40 PM Flag Quote & Reply

DELETE THIS PROFILE... ITS SAYS FUCK YOU ALL OVER IT

Welcome aboard Pete. Joe is right. you can read about all kinds of different gear and see it in action on YouTube. But tell you use  it and see it in person, jumping the gun and buying all kinds of stuff is a fun waste of money. Just remember what ever you buy, you might have to carry up and down some trick places.

Many will tell you that the Keene A51 is the way to start. Its rugged ,versatile AND its heavy. I bought one as my first. Now its sits waiting for my kids to get old enough, its theirs. I only use Plastic sluices. they are light, effective and so easy to clean.